LFP Player of the Season 2011/12: Leo Messi

For the fourth consecutive season Leo Messi has been named La Liga player of the season by Spain’s Liga de Futból Profesional (LFP). The LFP awards are voted for by fellow players and coaches in the Spanish league. Messi has now won every edition of the award since the LFP began the award for the 2008/09 season. Despite Real Madrid finishing top last season Barça got the better of the individual awards with Pep Guardiola also winning the best coach category for the fourth year in a row. Barça’s other winners were Andrés Iniesta as best attacking midfielder, Messi again as best striker while there was a fair play award won by Carles Puyol.

All the winners were as follows:

Best Player: Leo Messi (Barcelona)
Best Coach: Pep Guardiola (Barcelona)
Best Goalie: Iker Casillas (R. Madrid)
Best Defender: Sergio Ramos (R. Madrid) – unbelievable I know!
Best Defensive Midfielder: Xabi Alonso (R. Madrid)
Best Attacking Midfielder: Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona)
Best Forward: Leo Messi (Barcelona)
Fair Play: Carles Puyol (Barcelona)
Revelation: Francisco Alarcón Isco (Málaga)

This entry was posted in Andres Iniesta, Carles Puyol, Leo Messi, Pep Guardiola and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to LFP Player of the Season 2011/12: Leo Messi

  1. layibiyi says:

    I can imagine how ronaldo and mourinho feel 🙂 They can’t even win when they win

  2. mjmare says:

    Congrats to all the Barca winners
    Marc Bartra also won best defender in the 2nd division…
    Seriously, why was Ramos best defender?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s